Monday, June 14, 2010

Charting the Paths of Todays Major League Baseball Teams

Atlanta Braves (1966–present)

Milwaukee Braves (1953–1965)

Boston Braves (1941–1952)
Boston Bees (1936–1940)
Boston Braves (1912–1935)
Boston Rustlers (1911)
Boston Doves (1907–1910)
Boston Beaneaters (1883–1906)
Boston Red Caps (1876–1882)
Boston Red Stockings (1871–1876)

Boston Red Sox (1908–present)
Boston Americans (1901-1907)

Baltimore Orioles (1954–present)
St. Louis Browns (1902–1953)
Milwaukee Brewers (1894–1901)

Philadelphia Phillies (1884–present)
Philadelphia Quakers (1883–1889, used interchangeably with Phillies from 1884–89)

Pittsburgh Pirates (1891–present)
Pittsburgh Alleghenys (1887–1889)
Allegheny (1882–1886)
(Also referred to as "Innocents" in 1890 and Pittsburg for a time)

Detroit Tigers (1894–present)

Chicago White Sox (1904–present)
(Chicago) White Stockings (1900-1903)
*From 1900 to 1903, the official name did not contain the city name of Chicago, although it was based there

St. Paul Saints (1895-1899)
Sioux City Cornhuskers (1894)

Cincinnati Reds (1958–present)
Cincinnati Redlegs (1953–1958)
Cincinnati Reds (1890–1953)
Cincinnati Red Stockings (1882–1889)

New York Yankees (1913–present)
New York Highlanders (1903–1912)
Baltimore Orioles (1901–1902)

Chicago Cubs (1902–present)
Chicago Orphans (1898–1901)
Chicago Colts (1890–1897)
Chicago White Stockings (1870–1871, 1874–1889)

Los Angeles Dodgers (1958–present)
Brooklyn Dodgers (1932–1957)
Brooklyn Robins (1914–1931)
Brooklyn Dodgers (1913)
Brooklyn Trolley Dodgers (1911–1912)
Brooklyn Superbas (1899–1910)
Brooklyn Grooms (1891–1895)
Brooklyn Bridegrooms (1888–1890), (1896–1898)
Brooklyn Grays (1885–1887)
Brooklyn Atlantics (1883–1884)

St. Louis Cardinals (1900–present)
St. Louis Perfectos (1899)
St. Louis Brown Stockings/Browns (1882-1898)

Cleveland Indians (1915–present)
Cleveland Naps (1903–1914)
Cleveland Bronchos (1902, unofficial)
Cleveland Bluebirds (1901–1902)
Cleveland Lake Shores (1900)
Grand Rapids Rustlers (1894–1899)

San Francisco Giants (1958–present)
New York Giants (1885–1957)
New York Gothams (1883–85)

Minnesota Twins (1961–present)
Washington Nationals/Senators (1901–1960)
Kansas City Blues (1894–1900) (Western League)

Oakland Athletics (1981–present)
Oakland A's (1970–1980)
Oakland Athletics (1968–1969)
Kansas City Athletics (1955–1967)

Philadelphia Athletics (1901–1954)

Houston Astros (1965–present)
Houston Colt .45s (1962–1964)

Milwaukee Brewers (1970–present)
Seattle Pilots (1969)

Kansas City Royals (1969–present)
Kansas City Athletics (1890-1900)

Washington Nationals (2005–present)
Montreal Expos (1969-2004)

Texas Rangers (1972–present)
Washington Senators (1961–1971)

San Diego Padres (1969–present)

Arizona Diamondbacks (1998–present)

Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim (2005–present)
Anaheim Angels (1997-2004)
California Angels (September 2, 1965-1996)
Los Angeles Angels (1961-September 1, 1965)

New York Mets (1962–present)

Seattle Mariners (1977–present)

Toronto Blue Jays (1977–present)

Florida Marlins (1993–present)

Colorado Rockies (1993–present)

Tampa Bay Rays (2008–present)
Tampa Bay Devil Rays (1998-2007)

Agree?  Disagree?  You can log in your comments at:

Or click on COMMENTS below and share your thoughts.

No comments:

Post a Comment