Monday, June 14, 2010

The 10 MLB Feats We Will Never See Again

#1 - A Perfect Game in the World Series (From a x-Brownie)
by Ray Tannock

Throughout each and every MLB season, the discussion always seems to arise over the next great feat to be achieved by a single player.

These feats are also—more often than not—indelible marks in the record books that sometimes seem unbreakable.

But within the mix of these conversations are also discussions about giant feats in baseball that will NEVER happen again, and I put together a top 10 list highlighting some of these feats.

I realize in sports that anything is possible, and you may find one or two here that almost happened, but most of you should agree that this list is basically a collection of feats that we will never see again.

You can read the other 9, but here is the #1 feat that will never happen again.

1. A Perfect Game in the World Series

Pitching in any regular season is one thing to have to deal with. Pitching in a World Series is a whole different beast to burden.

So when we think of things like a complete game, a no hitter, or even a perfect game in a World Series, the chances of that happening again are slim to none, with emphasis on the none.

I know anything is possible in sports, but the level of intensity handcuffed to the World Series is monumental; the pressure to keep your team in a series competition—whether you are up three games to none, or down three games to none—is unimaginable.

With so much mental baggage loaded on the plane so to speak, pitching a perfect game in a World Series will probably never happen again. Pitchers will rarely even get a fighting chance, let alone achieve such a feat.

The last individual to do so was Don Larsen’s perfect game in Game Five of the 1956 World Series. It has never been achieved since.

Charting the Paths of Todays Major League Baseball Teams

Atlanta Braves (1966–present)

Milwaukee Braves (1953–1965)

Boston Braves (1941–1952)
Boston Bees (1936–1940)
Boston Braves (1912–1935)
Boston Rustlers (1911)
Boston Doves (1907–1910)
Boston Beaneaters (1883–1906)
Boston Red Caps (1876–1882)
Boston Red Stockings (1871–1876)

Boston Red Sox (1908–present)
Boston Americans (1901-1907)

Baltimore Orioles (1954–present)
St. Louis Browns (1902–1953)
Milwaukee Brewers (1894–1901)

Philadelphia Phillies (1884–present)
Philadelphia Quakers (1883–1889, used interchangeably with Phillies from 1884–89)

Pittsburgh Pirates (1891–present)
Pittsburgh Alleghenys (1887–1889)
Allegheny (1882–1886)
(Also referred to as "Innocents" in 1890 and Pittsburg for a time)

Detroit Tigers (1894–present)

Chicago White Sox (1904–present)
(Chicago) White Stockings (1900-1903)
*From 1900 to 1903, the official name did not contain the city name of Chicago, although it was based there

St. Paul Saints (1895-1899)
Sioux City Cornhuskers (1894)

Cincinnati Reds (1958–present)
Cincinnati Redlegs (1953–1958)
Cincinnati Reds (1890–1953)
Cincinnati Red Stockings (1882–1889)

New York Yankees (1913–present)
New York Highlanders (1903–1912)
Baltimore Orioles (1901–1902)

Chicago Cubs (1902–present)
Chicago Orphans (1898–1901)
Chicago Colts (1890–1897)
Chicago White Stockings (1870–1871, 1874–1889)

Los Angeles Dodgers (1958–present)
Brooklyn Dodgers (1932–1957)
Brooklyn Robins (1914–1931)
Brooklyn Dodgers (1913)
Brooklyn Trolley Dodgers (1911–1912)
Brooklyn Superbas (1899–1910)
Brooklyn Grooms (1891–1895)
Brooklyn Bridegrooms (1888–1890), (1896–1898)
Brooklyn Grays (1885–1887)
Brooklyn Atlantics (1883–1884)

St. Louis Cardinals (1900–present)
St. Louis Perfectos (1899)
St. Louis Brown Stockings/Browns (1882-1898)

Cleveland Indians (1915–present)
Cleveland Naps (1903–1914)
Cleveland Bronchos (1902, unofficial)
Cleveland Bluebirds (1901–1902)
Cleveland Lake Shores (1900)
Grand Rapids Rustlers (1894–1899)

San Francisco Giants (1958–present)
New York Giants (1885–1957)
New York Gothams (1883–85)

Minnesota Twins (1961–present)
Washington Nationals/Senators (1901–1960)
Kansas City Blues (1894–1900) (Western League)

Oakland Athletics (1981–present)
Oakland A's (1970–1980)
Oakland Athletics (1968–1969)
Kansas City Athletics (1955–1967)

Philadelphia Athletics (1901–1954)

Houston Astros (1965–present)
Houston Colt .45s (1962–1964)

Milwaukee Brewers (1970–present)
Seattle Pilots (1969)

Kansas City Royals (1969–present)
Kansas City Athletics (1890-1900)

Washington Nationals (2005–present)
Montreal Expos (1969-2004)

Texas Rangers (1972–present)
Washington Senators (1961–1971)

San Diego Padres (1969–present)

Arizona Diamondbacks (1998–present)

Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim (2005–present)
Anaheim Angels (1997-2004)
California Angels (September 2, 1965-1996)
Los Angeles Angels (1961-September 1, 1965)

New York Mets (1962–present)

Seattle Mariners (1977–present)

Toronto Blue Jays (1977–present)

Florida Marlins (1993–present)

Colorado Rockies (1993–present)

Tampa Bay Rays (2008–present)
Tampa Bay Devil Rays (1998-2007)

Agree?  Disagree?  You can log in your comments at:

Or click on COMMENTS below and share your thoughts.